21 April 2017

Was it Chris Pratt’s washboard abs everyone was talking about when Guardians Of The Galaxy was first released? Yes, but it was ALSO the film’s throwback soundtrack which became the stuff of immediate legend so we’ve been waiting with baited breath ever since to find out what’s going to be on the Awesome Mix Vol.2…and it’s here!



An integral part of the storyline to the Marvel movie, Peter Quinn (Pratt) struts around the galaxy listening to a mixtape of classic 80s tunes on his bashed up Walkman. We ended the first instalment with Quinn unwrapping another mixtape, a parting gift from his deceased mother, setting us up for no doubt another Platinum-selling soundtrack.


Rolling Stone scored a track-by-track insight with director James Gunn who explained some of his choices, which include cuts from ELO, George Harrison, Fleetwood Mac, and yes – David Hasselhoff.On the opening track to the mix, ELO’s ‘Mr Blue Sky’ Gunn said: “I’ve always said that if the Guardians had a house band, it would be ELO and ‘Mr. Blue Sky’ is one of my favourite songs by them.


“We had a hard time getting the rights. We had to really fight to get the song, and I personally appealed to Jeff Lynne.” Having approved a track for the first film which Gunn ended up cutting must have made it all the more difficult but the director added: “I think we made him an offer he couldn’t refuse.”


Baywatch icon David Hasselhoff features on the final track of the mix, an original, which was co-written by Gunn and score composer Tyler Bates. They recruited The Hoff because he’s supposed to be on of Quinn’s childhood heroes.
Guardians Of The Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol.2 Track List: 


Electric Light Orchestra – ‘Mr. Blue Sky
Sweet – ‘Fox on the Run’
Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah – ‘Lake Shore Drive’
Fleetwood Mac – ‘The Chain’
Sam Cooke – ‘Bring it On Home to Me’
Glen Campbell – ‘Southern Nights’
George Harrison – ‘My Sweet Lord’
Looking Glass – ‘Brandy You’re a Fine Girl’
Jay & The Americans – ‘Come a Little Bit Closer’
Silver – ‘Wham Bang Shang-A-Lang’
Cheap Trick – ‘SurrenderYusuf / Cat Stevens – ‘Father and Son’



Parliament – ‘Flashlight’
The Sneepers featuring David Hasselhoff – ‘Guardians Inferno’